The Institut Roi Albert II


The Institut Roi Albert II is the oncology center of the Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc. This is the largest cancer center in the Brussels and Wallonia regions with more than 4000 new cancers diagnosed per year. All the cancers from the Adults and Children are treated in this center.

Besides the excellence in the daily cancer care, the Institut Roi Albert II has an internationally recognized expertise in clinical research with more than 300 cancer patients included in clinical trials per year. The center participates to all the development phases of new compounds including early drug development (phase 1 department, with expertise with “first in man” trials). The clinical investigators of the Institut Roi Albert II have developed many international collaborations. Among them, the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) headquarter is implemented on the UCLouvain site and located just besides our offices (
The Institut Roi Albert II belongs to Cliniques Universitaires Saint Luc, the largest healthcare institution in Brussels and the university hospital of the University of Louvain (UCLouvain), providing reference care for rare or complex diseases of patients all over Belgium or abroad. CUSL is fully accredited by AAHRPP (Association for the Accreditation of Human Research Protection Program) and is committed to the highest clinical research quality standards.

Meet the team

Prof Jean-Pascal Machiels

Jean Pascal is Head of the Department of Medical Oncology at the Cliniques Universitaires Sain-Luc, Brussels, Belgium. He is also a member of the Directory Board of the Oncology Center at Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc since 2005. His main interests cover the fields of head and neck cancer, clinical and translational research, and early clinical studies (phase 1). He is Section Editor (head and neck cancer) for the European Journal of Cancer (EJC) and since 2017, he has been a member of the ESMO Educational Committee, coordinator of the ESMO Head and Neck Cancer Faculty Group and a Subject Editor of the ESMO Guidelines Committee.